If you are looking for a job in digital marketing then you should first clear your interview. To prepare yourself for the interview, I have listed some of the best digital marketing interviews questions with answers.
Let’s start!
Digital Marketing Interview Questions For Freshers
Q1. Explain what is Digital Marketing?
Ans: Digital Marketing is the process of online promotion using various digital channels such as SEO, PPC, social media, affiliate marketing, etc. Digital marketing can be measured and hence you can effectively track the ROI of your campaigns.
Q2. What are the channels in Digital Marketing?
Ans: Digital marketing involves the following channels:
- SEO (Search Engine Optimization)
- SEM (Search Engine Marketing)
- PPC (Pay Per Click)
- SMO (Social Media Marketing)
- Email Marketing
- Content Marketing
- Affiliate Marketing
- Ecommerce Marketing
Q3. What is the Difference Between Digital Marketing and Traditional Marketing?
Ans: There are several differences between digital marketing and traditional marketing as given below:
Digital marketing uses digital mediums like SEO, PPC, affiliate marketing, email marketing etc to promote products or services. Traditional marketing uses traditional mediums like newspapers, pamphlets, radio, and TV advertisement to promote products or services.
Digital marketing campaigns can be measured and you get an idea of the ROI generated from every campaign whereas, in traditional marketing, it is not easy to measure ROI.
Q4. Name any five search engines other than Google?
Ans:
- Bing
- Yahoo
- DuckDuckGo
- Baidu
- Yandex
Related: Top Alternative Search Engines Other Than Google
Q5. What are the five most effective ways to increase traffic on the website?
Ans: The five most effective ways to increase traffic on the website are:
- Through organic searches (SEO).
- Through social media such as Facebook, Twitter, etc.
- Through emails, known as email marketing.
- Through paid ads.
- Through content marketing and guest blogging.
Related: Top Benefits of Blogging
Q6. If you are promoting B2B products, which social media platform will you choose and why?
Ans: I prefer LinkedIn platform for promoting B2B products because LinkedIn is a social platform where lots of business professionals exist. Also, LinkedIn has one of the high organic reaches as compared to other platforms.
Related: The Ultimate Guide to B2B Content Marketing Strategy
Q7. What do you mean by SEO?
Ans: SEO is the process of optimizing your website for search engines like Google, Bing, etc. With the help of SEO, you can drive free organic traffic to your website. SEO helps to achieve good rankings on SERP (Search Engine Results Page). The higher your rankings, the higher will be the website traffic leading to maximum conversions.
Related: Learn SEO – Complete Guide
Q8. What is the difference between a white hat, black hat and grey hat SEO?
Ans: White hat SEO is a type of SEO which follows the rules or guidelines provided by Google to improve the website quality. On the other hand, Black hat SEO doesn’t follow Google’s rule and also violates them.
Now, coming to Grey hat SEO, it is a mixture of both the white and black hat SEO. It is neither white hat nor black hat. But we can say that it is something in the middle.
Q9. What is a Keyword?
Ans: A keyword is a word or combination of words used to find information on the internet. In SEO, you can also call it “search query”.
For example, if you search “SEO guide” on Google, then it is called as a keyword.
Q10. Can you explain PPC with examples?
Ans: PPC stands for Pay Per Click. It is a digital marketing medium in which advertisers pays the search engine every time the searcher clicks on the ad and visits the website.
Related: PPC Skills To Become Master PPC Specialist
For example, Sendinblue is running a PPC ad for the keyword, “email marketing”. Their ad is shown at the top spot on Google.
Related: PPC Tips To Improve Campaign Performance
Related: PPC Stats You Shouldn’t Ignore
Q11. Which tool do you use to find keywords for PPC and why?
Ans: I personally use Google Keyword Planner and SEMRush for doing PPC keywords research. The reason I use them is because Google Keyword Planner is provided by Google for advertisers to find good keywords for their ad campaign. And with SEMRush, you can check the progress of your competitors like traffic, top landing pages, etc. Using both the tools helps to create a result-oriented PPC campaign.
Q12. What is the difference between SEO and SEM?
Ans: The primary difference between SEO and SEM is the strategy. SEO uses organic strategy to get displayed on the search engine page, where SEM uses a paid strategy for the same.
SEO is a free source of website traffic. But in SEM, you have to purchase your space on the search result page by running PPC ads.
Related: Why Your Business Need A PPC Specialist?
Q13. What would be the ideal PPC account structure for a site selling Nike shoes for men?
Ans: I will create a campaign named Nike and create at least 3 different ad groups for every category of Nike shoes like Nike running shoes for men, Nike sneakers for men, and Nike shoes on sale.
Related: Google Ad Formats – Complete Guide
Q14. What do you know about Google Search Console?
Ans: Google Search Console is a free service provided by Google to monitor and optimize your website’s performance in the search engine, Google. It was previously known as the Google Webmasters Tools.
With this tool, you can optimize your site, eliminate technical errors, monitor search behaviour, and perform lots of other useful tasks.
Q15. What do you understand by influencer marketing?
Ans: Influence Marketing is a type of social media marketing to promote products and services. In this, brands and companies collaborate with an online influencer to endorse their products or services. Brands only choose influencers who have a good number of following and reputation on social media and collaborate with them to boost sales, building a social presence, etc. You can find most of the influencers on LinkedIn and Instagram.
Related: What is Influencer Marketing? (Complete Guide)
Q16. What do you understand by Email Marketing?
Ans: Email Marketing refers to sending an email to a group of people. Generally, these emails are commercial messages used for the promotion of the offered services.
Related: Best Email Marketing Examples
Email Marketing is one of the most effective digital marketing tactics used by online marketers for their businesses. These emails can convert your website visitor into a one-time buyer or even a lifetime customer.
Related: Best Email Marketing Services in India
Q17. What do you understand by email blacklists?
Ans: An email blacklist is a list of IP addresses or domains that sends spam emails to your mail address. It is similar to number blocking, where we block numbers from which we don’t want to receive calls. Here, we block spam IP addresses to stop receiving unwanted emails.
Related: Email Blacklists: How To Check And Avoid Them
Q18. How will you find email addresses of employees working in a specific company?
Ans: To find email addresses of employees working in a specific company, you need to use email finder tools. Some of the are:
- Hunter.io
- Kaspr
- Prospect.io
Q19. Can you name free digital marketing tools provided by Google?
Ans: Free digital marketing tools provided by Google are:
- Google Analytics
- Google Search Console
- Google Keywords Planner
- Google Trends
- Google PageSpeed Insights, and others.
Q20. If a site has a DA of 65, what does that mean?
Ans: DA is Domain Authority. DA is a quality score developed by Moz. It is used to predict the ranking of the website on the SERP. It ranges from 0 to 100. A DA of 65 means that the domain has a Domain Authority of 65, which is an excellent score. High DA sites also achieve a high ranking on the search result.
Please note: High DA does not necessarily reflect the reputation of a domain. Some black hat SEOs might artificially inflate the DA by buying paid links. Such sites might have a high DA but they do not rank higher in the search results. Hence, traffic to a website should always be checked along with DA.
Related: What is Moz Spam Score? Complete Guide
Q21. If a site has a DA of 70. It should be considered as a high-quality site. True or false?
Ans: False
Q22. What is Affiliate Marketing? And how is it different from Online Marketing?
Ans: Affiliate marketing is a method through which you can make money by selling or promoting a product or service using your website or your social media profiles.
Related: Affiliate Marketing Hacks For Beginners
Affiliate marketing is a part of digital marketing.
Q23. Name any three affiliate marketing platforms?
Ans: There are many affiliate marketing platforms available online. Some of them are:
- Amazon Associates
- Commission Junction
- Clickbank
Related: Best Affiliate Marketing Platforms
Q24. If the Klout score of an individual is 70, what does that mean?
Ans: The Klout score is a social media score which measures the user’s activity on social media like posting, commenting, liking, etc. It includes social media platforms such as Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter. A Klout score of 70 means that the user is very active on social media and engaging with almost every post.
Q25. What is Google AdWords?
Ans: Google AdWords is an online advertising platform provided by Google. It let advertisers create various ads for their business to display on Google’s search result page.
Related: Campaign Groups in Google Ads Account
Q26. What are the negative keywords in PPC?
Ans: A negative keyword is a functionality provided by most of the advertising platforms, including Google AdWords, where you can add keywords that do not match the goal of your ad campaign. When someone searches on Google for that keyword then your ad will not be displayed on the search result page.
For example, if you are creating an ad for “laptop for student” and you added a negative keyword “laptop for office”, then it will prevent it from being displayed on the search results for the keyword “laptop for student”.
Q27. What do you mean by “website optimization”?
Ans: Website Optimization means improving the overall website quality to achieve business goals such as driving traffic to the site, generating leads, increasing the number of sales, etc.
Q28. What is a backlink and what are its types?
Ans: Backlinks is a link from an external website to your website. Backlinks can are also known as incoming links. They are one of the important techniques in SEO.
Related: Will You Use A PBN To Build Links?
There are many types of backlinks created by website owners to achieve rankings and promote a website. Some of them are:
- Editorial backlinks.
- Guest blog backlinks.
- Profile backlinks.
- Acknowledgement backlinks.
- Press release backlinks.
- Comment backlinks.
Q29. What is Competitors Analysis?
Ans: In marketing, competitors analysis is the process of analyzing the strengths and weaknesses of your current business competitors.
Competitors Analysis provides us with the opportunity to find areas where we can improve our business compared to our competitors.
Q30. What is website responsiveness?
Ans: If a website successfully loads and works properly on devices like computer, mobile, and tablet, then it is called as website responsiveness. It means your website is responsive to devices of any screen.
Q31. What is conversion rate optimization?
Ans: Conversion Rate Optimization (CRO) is the process of optimizing your landing page to encourage users to take action. These actions can be form filling, product purchasing, email subscribing, and others.
Q32. What is the formula for calculating the conversion rate?
Ans: There is a very simple formula available for calculating conversion rate:
Conversion rate: (conversions / visitors) * 100
For example, If you get 170 conversions with total visitors of 550, then simply put these values in the above formula:
Conversion rate: (170 / 550) * 100 = (30.9%)
Digital Marketing Interview Questions For Experienced Professional
Q33. Are there any limitations to online marketing?
Ans: There is no doubt that online marketing has tons of advantages and benefits, but it still has some limitations. Some of them are:
- Competition is immense. Hence, digital marketing techniques like SEO takes time to take to show results. Similarly, you have to spend a high amount of money to run PPC ads.
- Online marketing takes lots of experience to get results.
- Your competitors can easily track your marketing activities.
- It is not easy to analyze marketing data. You might need to take the help of various software to convert the data into information to make better business decisions.
Q34. What are your biggest challenges as a digital marketer?
Ans: The biggest challenges as a digital marketer are:
- Driving relevant and quality traffic to the website.
- Targeting relevant audiences in ads for better conversions.
- Increasing brand reputation on social media.
- To keep a good balance between marketing budget and ROI.
- Keeping up to date with the new trends.
Related: Biggest B2B Marketing Challenges
Q35. How can you increase online brand reputation?
Ans: You can increase your online reputation using tactics like:
- Improve your presence on platforms like Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, etc.
- Respond to customer reviews on Google My Business, Yahoo Business, Amazon, Yelp, etc.
- Add a blog on your website.
- Showcase your customer testimonials.
- Reply to comments and feedback.
Related: Google My Business Listing Optimization Guide
Q36. How can you check title tags of thousands of pages within minutes?
Ans: To check thousands of page title tags at once, you need to use a tool. And the tool’s name is Screaming Frog, and it is the best SEO tool which can check unlimited pages on your website. With the help of this tool, you can quickly check thousands of title tags within a minute.
Q37. Which link building strategy is your favourite, and why?
Ans: There are many link building strategies we can use to build quality links for your website. Some of them are:
- Brand Profile Links
- Local Citations
- Guestographics
- Guest Blogging
But my favourite one is Guest Blogging because by using this strategy we can build not only links but also a relationship with other website owners.
Related: Use These 4 Techniques To Build Links
Q38. What is AMP? What are its uses and benefits?
Ans: AMP refers to Accelerated Mobile Pages. With the help of AMP, website pages can load faster on a mobile device.
AMP is used to provide users with fast experience of web search on mobile. You can achieve better search rankings with AMP.
Q39. What are the most important KPIs in Google Analytics?
Ans: Google Analytics is a tool where you can analyze your website for various metrics. Some of the important metrics or KPIs to measure using Google Analytics are:
- The number of visitors.
- Sessions & pageviews.
- Bounce rate.
- Goal conversion rate.
- Site speed (by country).
- Average session duration.
- Users by gender and age (Demographics).
- Traffic channels or sources.
- Top landing pages (website pages).
Q40. How can you measure conversions using Google Analytics?
Ans: To measure conversions using Google Analytics, you need to verify the web property of your website. After that, follow the below steps:
Step 1: Sign in to your Google Analytics account and click on the tools icon.
Step 2: Next, you need to click on “Conversion” under the category “Measurement” and click the plus (+) button.
Step 3: Now click on import and select the Google Analytics Web+App from the list of conversions.
Step 4: Finally click import and continue.
This way, you measure conversions using Google Analytics web and also the mobile version.
Q41. What are the LSI keywords?
Ans: LSI refers to Latent Semantic Indexing. LSI keywords are related terms of the main keyword that is used by the search engines to better understand the content of a webpage. You can use LSIGraph to generate LSI keywords free of cost.
Q42. Can you name some of the tools to check website loading speed?
Ans: Here are some of the tools to check site speed:
Q43. What is CTR, and how to calculate it?
Ans: CTR refers to Click Through Rate, which is a metric used to check how many times a user clicks on your webpage on the SERP.
For calculating the CTR, you can use the below formula:
CTR = Number of clicks / Number of impressions
For example, if you are getting 500 clicks out of 2000 impressions, then you can calculate your CTR as:
CTR = 50/2000 = 2.5%
Q44. What are the top 3 social media platforms for organic reach?
Ans: Facebook, Twitter, and Linkedin are the top three social media platforms. However, the choice of a social platform depends on business goals.
Related: Best Facebook Automation Tools
Q45. How does Google determine content quality?
Ans: Relevancy of the content with respect to the search query, authority of the domain, and expertise of the writer who wrote the content are some of the ways Google uses to determine content quality.
Q46. Which is the most important ranking factor used by Google?
Ans: There are more than 200 ranking factors used by Google to rank any website or webpage. The most important ranking factor is content quality.
Q47. What is the Google Page Experience update about?
Ans: Google Page Experience Update is used to measure the experience of a webpage offered to the users at the time of interacting. Page experience update includes these factors:
- Core Web Vitals
- HTTPS (safe browsing)
- Mobile-Friendliness
Related: Page Experience Update: Optimization Guide
Q48. What is CPC, CPI, and CPA?
Ans: All of these terms are used in PPC bidding.
- CPC is Cost Per Click. It refers to the amount spent on each ad click.
- CPI is Cost Per Thousand Impressions. It refers to the amount spent per 1000 impressions (not clicks)
- CPS is Cost Per Action/Acquisition. It refers to the amount spent on successful conversion by the customer.
Related: Difference Between PPC and CPC
Q49. What is bounce rate and how to decrease it?
Ans: Bounce rate is a Google Analytics metric. It represents the percentage of users or visitors who visits the website and immediately leave rather than continuing browsing the website.
To decrease the bounce rate, you should focus on creating quality and engaging content so that users don’t bounce back from the website.
Q50. What do you mean by transition words in SEO?
Ans: Transition words are the words that build a relationship between you and your reader. When you use these words in your content, it makes it easy for the user to understand your thoughts and ideas. Examples of transition words are but, and, because, etc.
Q51. What is the difference between bounce rate and exit rate?
Ans: If a website visitor exits from the first landing page, it is called bounce rate. But when the visitor exits from any other page of the website after coming to the first landing page, it is called Exit rate.
Q52. What do you understand by EAT?
Ans: EAT means Expertise, Authoritativeness, and Trustworthiness. EAT is used by Google to check webpage quality.
Q53. Explain the difference between Google AdSense and AdWords?
Ans: Google AdSense is a program which serves automatic, image or video ads on a publisher’s website or blog. Whereas, Google AdWords is an advertising platform, which lets advertisers run ads on Google on a pay per click basis.
The only difference between AdSense and AdWords is that with AdSense, people earn money and with AdWords, people spend money.
Q54. Any campaign that has a shared budget can be added as a campaign group. True or False?
Ans: False
Q55. Can you name any five different types of Google Ad extensions?
Ans:
- Sitelink Extensions
- Call Extensions
- App Extensions
- Location Extensions
- Price Extensions
Related: Best Google Ad Extensions
Q56. How can you perform competitor analysis?
Ans: You can use tools like SEMRush for doing effective competitor analysis.
Here are some of the steps for performing competitor analysis:
- Identify your competitors.
- Analyze your competitor’s market position.
- Check customer reviews and feedback.
- Compare competitor’s content.
- Analyze their organic reach.
- Check out their social media engagement.
Q57. What are the best ways to improve ad quality score?
Ans: There are many tactics you can use to increase your ad quality score. Some of them are:
- Choosing relevant keywords.
- Targeting the ad for relevant and targeted groups.
- Preparing relevant ad copies.
- Creating an excellent landing page.
- Using negative keywords.
Q58. How will you drive traffic to your new website?
Ans: When we start a brand new website, the most common problem comes is driving traffic to the website.
Here are some ways to drive traffic to a new website:
- Target low competition keywords via SEO.
- Use social media to divert indirect traffic to your site.
- Publish guest posts to acquire relevant traffic.
- Create PPC ads to generate relevant leads for your new site.
- Leverage the power of affiliate marketing to drive affiliate sales using your affiliate network.
Q59. Which tool will you use to find keywords for Alexa SEO?
Ans: You can use tools like Magnet or Keywordtool.io for researching keywords for Alexa SEO.
Related: Alexa SEO: Complete Guide
Q60. Which are your favourite SEO tools, and why?
Ans: My favourite SEO tools are Ahrefs and Ubersuggest. The reason why I use these tools is that Ahrefs gives us in-depth data of our site and competitors’ sites with a feature to export reports. While Ubersuggest is a tool, you can do some good research like keywords research, competitors research, etc. free of cost.
Related: Best Free SEO Tools
Q61. What is ROI, and how to calculate it?
Ans: ROI stands for “Return on Investment”. It refers to the percentage of profit gained compared to the investment.
You can easily calculate ROI by using the below formula:
ROI = net benefits / total costs * 100
For example, if you invest $1500 a month in paid ads and get a return or benefit of $2000, then you can calculate the ROI as,
ROI = 2000 / 1500 * 100 = (133%) ROI
Q62. What are the latest digital marketing trends?
Ans: Some of the latest digital marketing trends are:
- Voice search
- Chatbots
- Videos marketing
- Featured snippets
- Interactive content
Q63. List three ways to optimize a website for voice SEO?
Ans:
- Try to add similarly or “people also ask” type questions in your content.
- Increase the speed of your website
- Implement Schema Markup
Related: Voice SEO Guide
Q64. What is the difference between Pageviews and Sessions?
Ans: Pageviews is referred to as the number of times the visitor views any web page. It doesn’t matter if the visitor clicks multiple times on a single webpage; the analytics will count each visit as a pageview.
On the other hand, Sessions is the total number of visitors who visit your website under a given time frame. Generally, Google Analytics uses a 30-minute cookie for sessions. It means the session counts each visit during this cookie timing.
Q65. How to do effective keywords research? Name some of the tools.
Ans: Keywords research is an essential step in SEO. If your keyword research is good, then your ranking chances will increase. To do effective keywords research, you need in-depth analysis and also need a good SEO keyword research tool.
Some of the best tools are:
- Ahrefs
- SEMRush
- Ubersuggest
Related: Ahrefs vs SEMrush vs Ubersuggest
Conclusion
Cracking a digital marketing interview is easy if you know the answers to the questions. Remain confident and answer to the best of your knowledge. Thoroughly revise the digital marketing interview questions and answers given in this article. Best of luck for your interview!